Satyricon - Now Diabolical

Satyr and Frost have been the band's core members since 1993. The band's first three albums typify the Norwegian black metal style. Since its fourth album in 1999, the band has strayed from this style and included elements of traditional heavy metal in their sound. Satyricon was the first Norwegian black metal band to join a multi-national record label (EMI).

Describing their fifth studio album, 2002's Volcano, frontman Satyr stated in a press release and biography on their homepage that "the music is rock based but more extreme; it is black metal pushing the boundaries that began with bands like Venom and Bathory. Reinventing ourselves based on a foundation of rock-oriented black metal is our philosophy.

    Current members
  • Sigurd "Satyr" Wongraven - vocals, guitars, keyboards, bass (1991-present)
  • Kjetil-Vidar "Frost" Haraldstad - drums (1993-present)
  • Current live members
  • Steinar "Azarak" Gundersen - guitars (1999-present)
  • Anders "Neddo" Odden - bass (2009-present)
  • Anders Hunstad - keyboards (2011-present)

  • Metalspenz
  • 13, 2017 February
  • Metal Archives, Wiki

Recent Works